The Virginia T. Dowell Endowed Scholarship Fund

The scholarship endowment is intended to encourage academic excellence and promote community and school involvement. Recipients submit an application to the committee by a determined due date, and the scholarship committee deliberates annually to select the recipients.

To date, we have distributed over $200,000 in scholarships supporting more than 40 recipients since the fund's inception in 1999. We are proud to have been able to provide financial assistance to bright, deserving young women from New York entering Spelman.

Please consider making a donation to the Virginia T. Dowell Endowed Scholarship Fund! Donations support incoming freshwomen and current students through scholarship and NY-NAASC programming.

Tax receipts will be provided upon request, if you have already made a donation and would like a tax receipt acknowledging your gift, please email us at Thank you for your continued support!

To learn more about the application process and apply, click below! Submissions are due Wednesday, July 17, 11:59 pm EST.

about Virginia T. Dowell, C'47

The Virginia T. Dowell Endowed Scholarship Fund at Spelman College was established by the NY-NAASC to provide financial assistance to deserving students from New York State. Virginia T. Dowell’s career spanned 35 years as an educator in the New York area. She took on the task of recruiting and encouraging promising young women to attend Spelman College. She also served as President of the NY-NAASC from 1978 to 1982 with dedication and outstanding commitment.

In 1982, the New York Chapter honored her by naming a scholarship in her name—the Virginia T. Dowell Scholarship Award. This annual award is given to young women from New York State who will attend Spelman.

Virginia T. Dowell passed away in September 2013, leaving behind a profound legacy of service and commitment to Spelman College.

Meet our 2018 Virginia T. Dowell Scholarship Recipients

Jamila Eatman C’2022 | Naomi-Eliana Edouard C’2020 | Jasmine Euell C’2020

Markajah Marks C’2021 | Jasmine Sinkler C’2020